Quotable Moments

“Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.” – Mark Twain

Mr. Samuel Clemens, aka Mark Twain

Sam, you are indeed a smart man. “The world owes you nothing.” You’re right, we’re not supposed to expect anything from the world around us. Does that mean we’re just lucky to be alive at all? Maybe. Really I think it’s just a statement you made to keep young’uns (or adults even) in line when they start thinking the world’s against them, or when folks get uppity about what they want or thought they’d get.

I can get really uppity, I know. I mean, so uppity I’m cussing up a storm for something I never should have expected in the first place. We all want things to be fair, a lot of us have questions that we want or need answers to right now. So why should I expect anything except for what I HAVE right now?

I quit worrying about fairness a long time ago, because I just got tired of complaining and finally realized it’ll all work out at the end. But uppity-ness is something I still have to work on. I can’t expect answers where there are none, I can’t expect immediate results from something I know will take a long time, but for whatever reason I still do. I still push for those two things in particular. I just hate waiting.

But, Sam, as you said, the world owes me nothing. Instead, I’ll have to work harder for my answers and maybe look in unexpected places – but I have to leave the uppity-ness behind. It’s just not fair to anyone, even the world.

It was here first.

Don't forget your towel...

The World

About bdbecky

I like cool things. But my definition of cool is prolly different/cooler/weirder than yours. Or maybe not.
This entry was posted in Blows My Mind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Let it out!

