Quotable Moments

“If I had to choose a religion, the sun as the universal giver of life would be my god.”   -Napoleon

The universal life giving religion of Napoleon, if he had to choose, that is.

Nice, coming from the man who also (rightly) thought that religion ruled the world.  Religion is a touchy topic, most folk who have one fervently believe that theirs is the right and true way, the only way in some cases.  There are religions for pot smoking (Rastafarianism), the concept of slack, and all sorts of things.

I don’t know much about the history of Napoleon’s triumphs and travails – I’m sure there are plenty enough people who do. But you can’t argue that he wasn’t effective, or that he doesn’t deserve a place in history (that’s really about all I know).  But he makes an interesting point.

We choose or believe in religious or spiritual traditions because we think or know it’s a fundamental part of our being, of life-giving and taking, of morals and sins, of thankfulness and charity, punishment and derision.

I don’t have one of my own, just a mish-mash of little things I truly put my heart in.  It’s not definitively Christian, Muslim, Buddhist or Taoist, Rasta-like or even Subgenius (click on ‘slack’ above).  But it’s my way.  Not “my way or the highway”.  Just my way.  And I appreciate my friends and family who respect that, even if their religions speak to them differently.

I hope you’re as lucky as I am.  And as Napoleon seemed to be, though he also seemed crazy, too.

About bdbecky

I like cool things. But my definition of cool is prolly different/cooler/weirder than yours. Or maybe not.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Let it out!

